Statement on Violence in Charlottesville, Virginia

The Society for Applied Anthropology strongly condemns the violence generated by racist hate groups in Charlottesville, VA. The values of SfAA include dignity, integrity, and worth of all peoples. We reaffirm our ongoing commitment to value human diversity in all its myriad forms, and we endorse the strong statement below issued by Ken Kimmell, President of the Union of Concerned Scientists:

“The racist rallies and bloodshed in Charlottesville this weekend are an echo of the darkest moments in American history. Extremists took to the streets in support of a racist and authoritarian ideology. Now, we have a duty to speak out against that ideology and its consequences. The bigotry and violence that threatened Charlottesville is unacceptable. 

The torches, the chants, the weapons and the violence on display by these white supremacists were meant to send a message. They say to black and Latino communities, to immigrants and to religious minorities: you are not safe here, you do not belong here. Our leaders, and all of civil society, need to be loud and clear as they reject that message. We must stand in solidarity with those targeted by the forces of bigotry that rose in Charlottesville. We need to be on the side of equity, inclusion and justice, not racism and terror. …”

According to its founding principles of using social science knowledge and methods for the well-being for all of humanity in its diversity and fostering cross-cultural and racial understanding, the Society for Applied Anthropology strongly condemns the violent demonstrations held in Charllotteville, Virginia, USA. Such hate filled rhetoric and action directed against minorities in American Society should not be tolerated and we as social scientists will continue in our work to combat it.

Alexander (Sandy) Ervin
Society for Applied Anthropology


PhillySfAA2018.jpgThe Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA) invites abstracts (sessions, papers and posters) for the Program of the 78th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, April 3-7, 2018. The theme of the Program is “Sustainable Futures.”

The Society is a multi-disciplinary association that focuses on problem definition and resolution. We welcome papers from all disciplines. The deadline for abstract submission is October 15, 2017

For more information click on the Annual Meeting tab at the top of the page.


Film Festival at the 2018 Annual Meeting

SfAA 18 Poster (1) copy.jpgThe SfAA proudly announces its second annual film festival! This competitive two-day film festival will take place at the 2018 meeting, and welcomes all kinds of visual anthropology films: documentary, fiction, non-fiction, experimental, and other genres, as long as the films are either ethnographically or anthropologically intended. As the 2018 meeting theme is Sustainable Futures, we welcome films that address this main topic, broadly conceived, as well as films on issues related to the city of Philadelphia or the Mid-Atlantic region. The submitters of selected films must register for the SfAA meetings by October 15, 2017, by submitting an abstract of the film. See here for more information on jurying, acceptance announcements, evaluation processes, and submission requirements.



Welcome to SfAA.Net!

The Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA) was founded in 1941 to promote the investigation of the principles of human behavior and the application of these principles to contemporary issues and problems.  The Society is unique among professional associations in membership and purpose, representing the interests of professionals in a wide range of settings - academia, business, law, health and medicine, government, etc. The unifying factor is a commitment to making an impact on the quality of life in the world.

The Society for Applied Anthropology hosts an annual meeting each year for its membership. The 78th annual meeting will be held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from April 3-7, 2018. The theme for this meeting will be Sustainable Futures. Go to Annual Meeting for more information. 

The Society for Applied Anthropology proudly sponsors prestigious awards including the Malinowski Award, the Peter K. New Award, and the Sol Tax Award. Additionally, the SfAA co-sponsors the Margaret Mead Award with the American Anthropological Association.